No Gravity Reading

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gunsl1nger

Reaction score
Hiya guys! Newbie here!

Doing my first ever brew of a blonde beer.

I mixed up the the batch with water, but it went so foamy that I couldn't take a gravity reading. I literally lost my hydrometer in the foam for a little while.

Is this now going to be an issue for knowing when it is done, as there isnt a lot of airlock activity. The instructions say 4 days and bottle, but I don't want them to blow.

Ok, sounds like you are doing a no boil recipe. Correct? If you used exactly the right amount of water that the recipe says, than gravity readings aren't needed. Don't bottle after 4 days. Give it 14 days and you should be fine. You should also see airlock activity pick up by day 3

Yeah it was just a kit i bought of canadian blonde. :)

Awesome thanks for the reply. I read it wrong it actually says 6 days not 4. Does leaving it longer no risk ruining the brew?

Yeah it was just a kit i bought of canadian blonde. :)

Awesome thanks for the reply. I read it wrong it actually says 6 days not 4. Does leaving it longer no risk ruining the brew?

Leaving it longer in the primary fermentor doesn't risk ruining it. A nice "blanket" of CO2 will cover it providing a nice layer of protection before you bottle it. Many Brewers on here will leave their beer in primary for 2, 3 or even 4 weeks before bottling or kegging!

Congrats on the first brew!

:mug:

It depends on batch size too. A one gallon batch where the yeast takes right off should be good in 6days. But a 5 gallon batch I would leave for at least 2 weeks. Is the airlock more active now?