Newbie here! Need some advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nathan102

Reaction score
Good afternoon,

My name is Nathan and I'm a new brewer. I brewed (extract) my first batch last Saturday evening. It's been sitting in primary for 5 days, and I noticed that the air lock is done bubbling. Is this the indicator that it can be moved to secondary? Or should I take another SG reading? Below is a link to what I brewed.......

Thanks for your help....looking forward to learning from all of you!

Nathan

http://www.austinhomebrew.com/product_info.php?cPath=178_452_42_166&products_id=12185

Hi Nathan,
many here leave their beer on the yeast cake for ~3 weeks and move straight to bottling/kegging.

The airlock is not a good or accurate instrument to measure whether a beer is finished fermenting or not. In hydrometer we trust.:D

If the hydrometer reading is within a point or two of the indicated FG, feel free to rack to conditioning vessel.

Just because the airlock stopped bubbling doesn't mean fermentation is done. I would definitely take a reading or two over the next few days before doing anything. I know its exciting, but making sure you've finished fermentation before doing anything will yield better beer which will much better than drinking worse beer early.

Make sure you sanitize and be careful when you take a reading.

-R

Ahh, welcome! As everyone will tell you, to make sure fermentation has finished, check your final gravity today, wait 3 days, and check it again. If it's the same, it's probably ready. However, with that batch I don't believe a secondary would be necessary, also something you'll see and read a lot about. I would just leave this in the primary fermenter for 3 weeks or so total, then bottle the bad boy!:mug: