Cherry mead concerns (newbie here!)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zommbee

Reaction score
Hi everyone! Pretty new to brewing as a whole, but opted to start a cider and a mead! They both seem fairly forgiving to newbies like myself or so I've read. Found this absolute gem of a site and instantly getting hooked on knowledge.

I just started a 1 gallon batch regular apple juice based cider, using Safale S-04 yeast. That's pretty much it, some organic apple juice sole ingredient stating juice of apples. That one seems pretty active and kicking, looking good as far as I can tell. New to using a hydrometer but from what I could tell starting gravity read 1.060. Again nothing seems wrong but any input would be appreciated!

My concern is with the mead though (or I guess it's called a melomel, from what I learned here!) See the recipe below, but the starting gravity seems suuuuper high and I'm concerned. Per the recipe it recommended additional nutrients and energizer so I picked some up at a local homebrew shop. No brand names on the items it's just in clear zip baggies with a printed label of the chemical names. Starting gravity read what I think 1.168, my hydrometer stops at 1.160 so kind of estimating here but could very well be 1.170 or near there. After getting it all mixed up aerated and yeast pitched I was super excited, then went down a rabbit hole of additional googling to find that number being reallllly high.

Amounts:
-3 lb florida orange blossom honey (raw and unfiltered)
-1 qt sour cherry juice (organic)
-1 qt black cherry juice (organic)
-Spring water to top off to the shoulder of the carboy
-1/2 tsp energizer (written on package per gallon)
-1/2 tsp (written on package per gallon)