Newbe question about Primary and Secondary Fermenting

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coachburke14

Reaction score
First let me introduce myself. My name is Brendan and I'm from South Jersey. I'm new to brewing after a 10 year layoff. The only thing I was able to salvage from my first kit 10 years ago was the glass carboy. I wanted to get back into brewing because I love Beer. So I got a new kit and a beginners malt extract pub-kit. I've been doing some reading and my question is, as a beginner is it worth it to go to a secondary fermenter after a couple of days or should I keep it the plastic fermenter? Or should I just siphon the wort from the pot to the glass carboy?

Thanks for any help
Burke

You should never go to secondary after a couple of days. If you are going to use a secondary, you should wait until it is fully fermented. Wait at least a week but more like 2 weeks to make sure the yeast is done. Take gravity ready before transfer.

Do you need to secondary? If you need the bucket for another brew.....sure. If you are going to dry hop or put some other material in there then it is a good idea to rack to secondary first.

I have just started only using a primary. I wanted to see what the difference might be. I could not tell a difference. My beer was clear so I decided to quit racking to secondary unless I needed to for other reasons.

I would siphon your wort right to the carboy and ferment in there. Then it frees up your bucket for bottling.