New to Brewing and need help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

utbrew

Reaction score
Hi,
I am brand new to brewing and was wondering if anyone has any advice on what I need to get started(ie equipment ect).

Also a lot of what I have been reading is that most people use extracts instead of fresh hops. Is it too difficult to start from scratch.

I would search for Equipment on here. I'm sure there's a writeup somewhere.

Extract is Malt Extract, in place of actual grains. Most people start out doing Extract beers. Hops are still used. Pellet hops are the most common, some use leaf hops. It is not too difficult to start from scratch (All Grain) IF you read up on the process and everything that is involved and you feel comfortable about it. I started out doing All Grain and never had a problem. All Grain requires a little bit more equipment, but the ingredients are cheaper.

Welcome to HBT!
You came to the right place for advice, you'll get advice every way from Sunday on here. On the top of this forum is a bunch of stickies you might find helpful.

Most folks have their own favorite home brew shop so you can get many opinions on equipment kit. Mostly they are pretty similar but this is the one I recommend Brewing Intermediate Kit w/ Two 5 Gallon Better Bottles :: Midwest Supplies Homebrewing and Winemaking Supplies if you can afford it. If you are going for something a little cheaper, that is doable too.

How to Brew - By John Palmer is a great read for learning beer brewing.