New to AG, having some issues, need advice.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beerphonic

Reaction score
Hi,
I have been brewing for about 5 years now (mostly partial mash), 4-6 batches a year so not too prolific. Always 5 gallons.
I recently got an AG kit for Xmas from the wifey, and have brewed 4 batches so far. 1 turned out fantastic but the other three have had some issues, one a pretty much a loss.
Basically, I am having trouble getting to my FG. Post boil, my SG has been pretty spot on or maybe 1 or 2 points off. For example I have a Blonde Ale right now (same recipe that turned out great before) that seems to be stuck at a FG of .017 and the recipe says it should be .010. I also had a Brown that was supposed to be .015 and stuck at .028 and that one was perfect on the SG post boil! Yikes!
I am doing a everything the same as when I did Extract other than I am using a yeast starter now. My house does run hot so the Primary is around 70° but it has never been an issue before, at least as far as FG is concerned (I know, off flavors, etc).
I am wondering if maybe something is up with the yeast starter? Somehow not getting enough fermentables from the mash? Bad sparging? Any advice on what you think the culprit could be and some possible suggestions as to some things I could try, I am all ears.

Cheers,
Dean

Sounds like you might be mashing too hot. This would give you an ok OG, but with more unfermentable sugars than a lower temp mash. With more unfermentables, you will get higher FG's. I would look into your thermometer calibration. If it reads low, then you would be mashing at higher temps than you intended.

Brew on :mug: