New AG brewer, need some help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bcray

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I need a little help here. I'm a long time extract brewer and feel pretty comfortable with that process. I'd like to move to AG now and am having confusion with some aspects. I have my 8 gallon polarware pot for boiling, a 10 gallon rubbermaid mash tun (made using the instructions posted by Flyguy on this site) and a 5 gallon pot for heating water.

My problem comes in knowing how much water to use, at what temperature, and when. I want to keep things simple while I'm still learning the new process here. I have a recipe I want to try for my first attempt. It is as follows:

6lbs. pale 2-row barley
4lbs. Malted Wheat
1lb. Molasses
1.5 oz Kent Goldings @ 60
1 oz Kent Goldings @ 10
1 pkg American Ale Yeast

Now the instructions only say to "mash for 60 to 90 minutes and collect 6 gallons of wort." But from what I have been reading, shouldn't there be a mash and then a sparge? Do I use the standard 1.25 qt / lb ratio? If so, how much do I use for sparging?

I've searched around on the forums but I think there are some fundamental concepts I'm missing when it comes to this part. I'm hoping maybe someone can point me in the right direction or help me figure all this out.

First of, Im 100% extract, also moving onto AG next month hopefully.

But that said...

I think that the "collect" term refers to the sparge, and from what I understand the 6 gallons you collect epends on how efficent the mash was, there is a magic number that the worts runoff gravity should not get under when sparging something like 1010-1017, and at that point your just collecting tannins and astringent flavors from the grain husks...

@shecky
Great link ¤saves¤