neophyte seeking guidance

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alpha224

Reaction score
Hey, I am extremely new to this and wondered if there is a definitive list of equipment and literature I absolutely need. I have a bottling bucket (w/spigot & lid), about 7-8' of hosing, a "fermentometer" for on the side of my fermentor, an "S" style airlock, and a long brewing spoon/paddle... Besides a brew kettle, am I forgetting anything I need before bottling?

Bottles and caps. LOL.

You don't mention that you have a bucket for fermenting, but I assume you do. I often find it useful to have an extra bucket as well, for soaking equipment in a sanitizing solution.

As far as literature, there is a lot out there. Papazian's Joy of Homebrewing is a good start, and an entertaining read. John Palmer's How to Brew is also very helpful, and free online at howtobrew.com.

One of the sources I checked had said I could use the bottling bucket to ferment with extract kits

You can use any bucket, alpha, but you need a second bucket. After fermentation is complete (and giving the yeast some extra time to clean up any off-flavors) you will want to transfer your beer to another bucket to add your priming sugar.

Ahh, it makes more sense now... When looking for a ferm bucket, would a 5gal bucket be big enough, or should I look for something a little larger, like 6+gal.?

Ahh, it makes more sense now... When looking for a ferm bucket, would a 5gal bucket be big enough, or should I look for something a little larger, like 6+gal.?

You will probably want something 6+.