Need Help Please

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mitchum

Reaction score
So Im brand new to home brewing, and brewed my first solo batch Tuesday night. I did an All Grain Amber ale.
Everything went smooth, got it into a 6g glass carboywith rubber stopper and airlock. Last night when I checked it before bed it was fermenting rapidly and had blown most of the sanitizer out of the airlock. I filled it back up and went to bed. 7 hours later it was almost completely empty. I had to work early this morning so in a panic, as I was trying to get the rubber stopper out (I was getting late for work) the rubber stopper got pushed into the carboy.
I put a blow off tube in and went to work.

My question is... Is the stopper going to contaminate my first brew?

If it was sanitized, probably not. Just let it ride and see what happens. At this point, this is all that you can do.
Going forward, if you don't have a ton of headspace in a carboy, use a blow off tube. If you see that the airlock was filled with krausen then remove that and use a blow off tube. Cleaning it and putting it back only gives it another chance to do exactly what your beer did.

How hot are you fermenting?

Possible, but I doubt it. If it was sanitized you should be ok. I have found beer to be very forgiving, especially once fermentation takes off.