Need advice for my first starter.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

baldmagicguy

Reaction score
This week I plan on starting a Peanut Butter Cup Stout Extract Beer Recipe Kit.

I ordered 2 packs of Safale US-05 yeast and a 4 pack of Northern Brewers Fast Pitch. I have a 2 liter flask and a stir plate. I plan on doing a yeast starter before brew day. I, obviously, don't want to under pitch and I'm concerned about over pitching. While I'm not a complete newbie to brewing, this will be the first time making a yeast starter. Thus... my questions...

The OG of this kit is supposed to be 1.085

Should I use 2 cans of Fast Pitch, 32 ounces of water, and *both* packs of yeast? I'm concerned that this will create too much yeast.

Thanks for your help.

For a 5 gal OG 1.085 using US-05 with a dry pitch, I'd be OK using a single 11.5 gram packet. Disclaimers: not all yeast packages are 11.5 grams, some dry yeast strains have a noticeably different recommended pitch rate.

Should I use 2 cans of Fast Pitch, 32 ounces of water, and *both* packs of yeast? I'm concerned that this will create too much yeast.
I wouldn't use both packages.

The OG of this kit is supposed to be 1.085

Personally, around the 1.070-ish range is where I start to put more effort into my yeast. I would not just pitch one pack of dry yeast myself into that high gravity of a beer. For the price of a pack of US-05 I would be tempted to just pitch them both (or at least 1.5 packs). I don't recall ever making a starter with a dry yeast pack, but maybe 1 pack and a starter would be another option.

Wow! Didn't expect such a wide range of opinions on this. Hang on while I make some popcorn and see how this plays out. 😂

Thanks to everyone for chiming in. I'm still confused as hell, but I'm learning.