Natural Forced Carbonation of beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jsc370

Reaction score
Hi, I am very new to brewing. I started with a Beer Machine (I can hear the chuckles from here) and got some good results after a bit of experimentation. I have also started brewing ciders and fruit juices using oz-tops, so I got to thinking. Why cant I use a simmilar process to oz-tops to force carbonate beer. I started by pooring of 1 litre of a fresh brew into a PET bottle and fittinga 'medium' oz-top. To my great surprise it worked. I have now converted a 25 litre drum to have a screw on oz-top fitting with the intention of trying the same principal. Can anyone tell me if this is destine for failure or not ? I dont want to go wasting 25lt of a perfectly good brew (I could never forgive myself) so being the very green brewer that I am i thought I should ask some people who would know. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

Had to google oztops because I had no idea what that was. My question is how are you going to dispense the beer from your 25 liter drum? And how will you keep it carbonated? Unless you're planning to drink the whole thing in a very short time.
Also not quite sure why you'd need those special caps. Presumably you are only carbonating in this vessel, not fermenting right? So you add the correct amount of sugar and you don't need or want to vent anything.

Well my thought was to ferment in the container with the oz-top as a pressure relief valve. It will maintain a psi of 60-70 which should be enough to force carbonate at room temperature? And then I shouldn't need secondary fermentation. I was then going to refrigerate and bottle after it settles and clears? I am probably not on the right track.