My first cider!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RDMWest

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm new to brewing, and pretty darn excited about it. I just recently started my very first batch, and thought I'd share! I'm looking forward to some more complex stuff when I get the basics down.

It's pretty simple, just a gallon of organic Columbia Gorge pasteurized cider, pitched with Red Star wine yeast. Forgive me if I am using any terminology incorrectly, total 'noob' here. I don't have any gravity readings or anything, I got too excited and started it off before I got my hydrometer in the mail. :pipe:

Here are a couple pictures of my complex equipment.

IMG_3431.jpg
IMG_3430.jpg

Side note here; how to I rotate attached images? Tilting my head isn't very satisfying.

This is a very enjoyable hobby (read: obsession). :mug: Looks good. Good luck!
PS. If you know the total amount of sugar that is dissolved in the liquor you can very reasonably estimate the starting gravity (One pound of sugar dissolved to make one gallon will have a gravity of 1.040) and commercially pressed juice will have a nutritional label that will include the number of servings and the amount of sugar per serving. Multiply these two numbers and you have the total sugar content of each jug. The total volume of the jug then gives you the liquid volume.. (lbs (or oz) per gallon or equivalent)