melomel mead

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to mead making. I've made a bunch of ciders (with varying success) and I've made a handful of meads in 1 gal batches. Mostly fruit meads. However,

It seems that the finished products don't really taste like the fruits I used. Generally I use about 2lbs of fruit per gallon in the primary (two batches) with d-47 yeast. It seems to me that the ciders I made with fruit in the primary leave a bit of the fruit flavor in the finished product, and the mead just blows it right out of the airlock.

Should I also add fruit to the secondary? Or add fruit juice to the primary instead of water?

I'm really attempting to make wine for dessert, mostly for family holidays. a llittle Sweet and fruity is what I am trying to shoot for.

I am currently fermenting a cherry cyser:
3lbs honey
64oz apple cider (good quality, tasted very nice)
-pectin enzyme to clear
32oz Morello cherries in syrup (made some decent cherry cider with these)
d-47 yeast

I didn't take a SG because the cherries got in the way, but I would imagine its rather high. I have not tasted it yet, its still going...but I'm going to imagine its not going to taste much like apples or cherries when its done.

Should I add both of the fruits to the secondary if that is the flavor profile I am after? And if so how long should I leave the fruit in the secondary?

I add fruit to the primary. I agree it tends to blow away the flavor but after it clears in the secondary I stabilize and add a little more fruit juice to add sweetness and flavor then bottle.