Mead fermented faster than expected

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dosowski

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm fairly new to making mead - I started the easy way of just dumping everything, including the nutrients, together at the beginning and just letting it do its thing. Recently I decided to give staggered nutrient addition a try on a small batch. I used the batch builder at meadmakr.com to come up with the plan...

First, some info:
* 3.5 pounds clover+wildflower honey
* 1 gallon spring water
* 6 grams go-ferm
* 2 grams Fermaid K (staggered - 4 additions of .5 grams each)
* 4 grams DAP (staggered - 4 additions of 1 gram each)
* Lalvin K1-V1116 yeast
* Original gravity: 1.095
* Original pH: 4.0

Quick rundown of my steps:
1. Mixed honey and water (no boil - just warmed up the honey in a bit of hot tap water to make it pour easier)
2. Rehydrated yeast with go-ferm using the instructions from meadmakr.com, and tempered to within 10 degrees F of the must before pitching.
3. Degassed/aerated twice a day and added nutrients every day for the next four days. Nice steady bubbling throughout. I hadn't started taking gravity readings yet (other than the original) - I figured I'd give it a few days and continue aerating for the first 7 days, as I've seen recommended.
4. On the fifth day, the airlock seemed to abruptly stop. I was initially concerned about a stuck fermentation, but then I noticed that it looked like it was starting to clear. Interesting, so I took a measurement. 1.002. pH 3.4.
5. I gave it another day and a thick layer of sediment piled up on the bottom. I'm going for a raspberry melomel, so I went ahead and racked onto some raspberries (about 1.5 pounds) and pectic enzyme. I'd like to have the remaining active yeast munch away at the raspberries.