Looking to get into kegging

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ztp

Reaction score
I just started brewing this summer and am already looking to get into kegging my batches, with the addition of a keezer in the near future. I'm currently in college so money is somewhat scarce so I was wondering if anybody had any input on where to get the necessary equipment to get set up. I have a few 1/6 barrel kegs that I plan on using, because they are much easier for me to get than the traditional ball lock or pin locks (believe me I have searched for these type of kegs in my area.) So any help on where to get the best bang for my buck would be great help. Thank you in advance.

I can't comment on Durant, OK., but I can say that a pretty decent place to buy some online is cornykeg.com. I drive to the same building they're located in about once a month for C02 refills, and they sell them to me at a discounted price. I believe they sell their refurbished ball lock corny's for $50 online, but I pick them up for $25 each. The next time I am down that way I could maybe pick one up and see how much it would cost to ship them your way. It could possibly save some money for you, compared to ordering directly from their site. If this would help I could look further into it.

Jonas

Thats very admirable of you. If its not too much of a hassle I would be very interested, depending on the shipping cost of course.

When I first started brewing my #1 problem was procuring reasonable equipment, at a reasonable price. It took a very long time to move out of that phase and I like to help out others using the knowledge I have acquired.

I will take one of my empty kegs to the ups store tomorrow (5 min. walk) and see how much they would want to ship it. Hopefully it's not too bad.