Looking for Some Feedback- Hop Schedule and Yeasties

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UncleBeardyBeer

Reaction score
Hey Folks,

Doing one of my first (maybe the third?) AG BIAB brew, no kit. The grain bill is set, as its already milled into a single bag. The yeast is set also, pulling out from under a mild on brew day, washing and pitching. The hop schedule is open for debate. I guess its somewhere on the north end of an APA with the current layout. This is my first time trying this combination of hops, read about someone else enjoying the mix of flavors. Kind of a spicy/earthy/citrus thing. Here's the recipe (with thoughts inserted parenthetically).

10# 2-row
1# Munich
0.5# Caramel 10L
(maybe a bit of corn sugar to thin it out? 1# .5#?)

Inexpertly mashed IAB @ 148-150 (worried about attenuation with this yeast so aiming a bit low)
Half-assed batch sparge of ~3 gallons @ 170 (grain bag in a strainer thing over the brew pot, pour over slowly, give her a light squeeze)

1oz Galena @ 60 (maybe .75oz?)
.5oz Willamette @ 15
.5oz Ahtanum @ 15
1oz Willamette @ 0
1oz Ahtanum @ 0

Dry-hop in secondary- 7days
1oz Willamette Whole Cone
1oz Ahtanum Whole Cone
(thought whole cone would be easier to rack around, going in a fine nylon bag with a couple o' marbles)

Yeast- 1968 London ESB- (currently a lovely yeast cake under a recently brewed mild, thought about pitching directly on the cake, looked around the interwebz and that seemed like a bad idea. Thought I could wash and then over-pitch a bit to limit ester production? Also seems to be mixed info on that... advice here?)