Learning techniques

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rowdyroddypiper

Reaction score
Hi all. I started brewing right before the winter hit here in the northeast, and have since done many extract batches that turned out really drinkable. I have been fortunate enough to have a good friend of mine that has been brewing for a couple years now show me the ropes and help me nail down key concepts about brewing in general.

As spring and summer come along I plan on brewing all grain. My plan is to Brew the same recipe again and again. I think this will help me nail down the process and understand more about what is going on when I do things, rather than just following instructions. It will also give me the opportunity to change the recipe and or fermentation temps / time, to see the effect that this has on the final product.

So I guess the question would be what do you guys think about this idea? Is it beneficial to keep brewing the same batch like this? My plan was to try to brew something that I drink a lot of, which happens to be pale ales. What beer style do you think would be the most effective teacher?

I think what you'll find when you do it is that the process is pretty much the same for most brews. If you look for relatively simple recipes (which most are), then you can have great variety and the techniques you use will be virtually the same from batch to batch. These basic techniques will be used over and over, regardless of what you're brewing in the future.