Lager kit problem

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kjfarwell

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I accidentally bought a lager Maibock kit from Norther Brewer when I was a super newb. I did not know about the Lager fermenting issues. I don't have any temperature control availability.

http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/maibock-extract-kit.html

I got the Wyeast 2124 Bohemian yeast.

Someone told me that a lager yeast could give me a sour beer if I fermented at my 70-72 basement temperature.

So I don't want to wast it...so can I....

1. Just brew it and ferment it at that 70-72 temperature?

2. Buy an ale yeast to substitute and if so, what yeast should I use?

3. I'm in Kansas and we are hitting winter. I could ferment it in my unheated garage...which I'm sure has temperature fluctuation but would be colder...I'm not sure of ranges though.

I know I can get a container and try to do a swamp cooler type thing or buy one of those cooler jackets...it calls for a 3 month fermentation which is way longer than I've ever done...

suggestions? Thank you!

The safe way would be to use an ale yeast, ferment it and then lager it. Then you would have an Alt beer.

If you are a gambler you could use the lager yeast and wrap the fermenter in blankets to keep the temps stable and hope the are around 50F.

Ok...thanks. I have no idea on what an "alt" beer is or how to do what you mentioned but I"m sure it is on the forums....this place is loaded with info! Thanks for your help, I appreciate it!

The safe way would be to use an ale yeast, ferment it and then lager it. Then you would have an Alt beer.

If you are a gambler you could use the lager yeast and wrap the fermenter in blankets to keep the temps stable and hope the are around 50F.