Kitchen circuit question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

discmonkey

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a long time lurker who is downsizing (and upgrading?) from a 10 gallon all grain propane set-up to a 2.5-3 gallon ebiab set-up. I just bought a new house and I want to brew in the kitchen instead of the yard.

I have no electrical background but I've been reading threads and have been compiling my build list and learning. I have a couple of related questions that I wasn't able to find an answer to with a search (maybe I'm not using the right keywords) so I would appreciate it if someone can help answer or point me to an appropriate thread or threads.

My kitchen has three outlets and all are on the same circuit (it's an old house). Since the refrigerator is plugged in, if I run a 900 watt microwave and an electric water kettle, the breaker trips. The stove is gas but is also plugged in to power the clock/timer. I haven't run the dishwasher and turned on the microwave, but I should probably do that to see if it's on the same circuit as well. Yikes.

My questions are as follows: