Kegging Newb - Is My Brew Screwed?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slanty_Shanty

Reaction score
So I'm new to kegging and I think I might have screwed myself (and my beer) over, royally. I brewed up a double IPA about a month and a half ago, and I finally racked it to my corny this weekend. I set the CO2 and let it sit a couple of days. I checked it tonight just to see how it was going, and it came out looking like the picture you see below (though right side up...I don't know what happened with the upload). Needless to say, I'm fairly devastated. I'm guessing that I somehow left too much sediment in the beer when I put it in the keg, it cold crashed, and now the draft line is pulling all the sediment in, making it look like...that. I should add that I had a dry hop bag in there for three - four days, but pulled it out tonight after pulling a glass like this, as it had fallen to the bottom and I was afraid it had split open and that was what was causing this. But nope...even post-dry-hop-bag, this is what my beer looks like.

Someone please give it to me straight...did I just lose an entire 5 gallon batch of delicious, wonderful Double IPA, or is there something I can do to salvage it? Is my brew screwed?

Thanks for any help, everyone.

0421152011.jpg

Ahhhhhhhhhh, many thanks to you both (and for the photo flip!). I was getting ready to despair. My daughter has a birthday party in two and a half weeks, and I was hoping to have this on tap. So I suppose I'll hold off on abandoning all hope. Instead, I'll RDWHAHB...just not that one, yet.

Some draw off a couple of pints and pour them down the drain. I drink them even if cloudy, I hate wasting beer. Though none have been as cloudy as that.