Keezer freezing need help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

storytyme

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I need some help. I just completed a keezer build. I feel like I am an experienced builder as this is my 4th one. This one is the smallest one yet. Only fits 3 kegs barely. Brand new freezer. Ink Bird controller. Plugged freezer in pre-build and worked great. Post build and force carbonating my first keg and it turned on great. Next morning probe read 26 degrees. Beer slushy. I played around with it. Increased temp to 38 degrees on the InkBird. I have never put a DIY paintcan heater in a kegerator before so I left that in my fermentation chamber. The probe is attached to a beer can at the bottom of the keezer. So I set it at 38 and come back and the temp is at 17F degrees! Freezer is still running. All my settings are exactly the same as my other keezers. Is all this due to it being such a small space inside? Other thoughts? Thank you in advance!! Cheers!!!

If the freezer was still running (i.e. still electrically powered) when the measured probe temp was below the setpoint (maybe "TS" on the inkbird), then the controller is malfunctioning, i.e. failing to shut off the cooling relay. This would have nothing to do with the size of the keezer.

Is the freezer plugged into the "heating" side of the controller? Is controller calling for heat but turning on the freezer...

View attachment 822087

Attachments

• 1686398069442.png
    1686398069442.png
    5.9 MB · Views: 0