Keeping a steady fermentation temp

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dpittard

Reaction score
Hello all!

I'm new to the hobby and I am planning my first brew. I've picked out my brew kit, my ingredient kit, and I've read (and still reading) as much as I can. I know I'm going to start with a very easy, extract kit. I know I want to first learn the rules so I can break them later. I know I want to start with something easy.

Through all this information gathered, I'm still a little foggy on one part and I'd like to clear it up before I take the plunge and start buying stuff.

HERE'S MY QUESTION (for those who want to skip my ramblings!):

What is the most cost effective way to keep fermentation at a stable level?

I live in Georgia and I plan to start my brew soon (within a month). So outside temps will be at the lowest at night of 30˚ and the absolute highest of 70˚. We set the inside temp to 68-70˚ but turn it off at night.

So here's what I'm thinking for my first brew. I'll get a relatively large container, large enough to fit an ale pail, fill it with water, submerse my ale pail, insert an ample aquarium heater (which I already have. Aquaria is one of my hobbies) and pump, set it to 69˚ and circulate the water to ensure even temps throughout the ale pail bath. I'm planning on keeping this in my garage where temp aren't quite inside or outside, this way the environment temp isn't too high, ensuring the bath will never rise above 70˚.

Am I way off here, or should this work?

Now, for the scenarios.

Winter: