Just got off night shift...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rowan57

Reaction score
I have never worked nightshift before but did this week.. Last shift last night, now on day shift tomorrow. Slept all day today, now body clock all screwed up! I see movies & HB in my future tonight.

I feel your pain. I do one week of 05:30-14:30, then a week of 14:30-23:30. The transition from getting home at midnight to having to wake up at 04:30 sucks, even with a weekend in between. I try and force myself to wake up early on Sunday before the early shift, but that rarely seems to happen.

Night shift is brutal - I work 12 hour nights (7pm to 7am) doing floor nursing on our Cardiac Rehab Unit at our local hospital....wreaks havoc trying to adjust to real world time on nights off. Also hard to reset yourself when you've been off a few and have to go back in...My wife is pi$$ed at times that I'm "always tired"......and I seem to be, she can't relate as she's a dayshifter.

I was on night shift for a long time from 5pm to 5am,7 nights a week. In winter months,I never really saw the sun. It was like being a vampire or something. Then first shift from like 11pm to 8:30am,arriving at the bar for drafts & shots of tequila at like 8:45am or so. The sight if which put guys off their coffee & breakfast. I dodn't get on day shift till they eliminated night shift when I had some 10 years in. I've worked every shift there is in some 31 years. Sometimes 3 different ones in the same week. I'm glad I was at least young when most of that happened.

Feel your pain bud, 2 weeks of 6-6 day shift then 2 weeks 6-6 night shift constant rotation. Im three years in and still cant adjust very well my first week of nights. Lotta coffee and a brisk run around our tank farm to wake the F up.