Ingredient Prices?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

onipar

Reaction score
I'm very new to brewing, and I was just wondering if there is much "wiggle room" in terms of finding ingredients at different prices.

I've only been to my LHBS once (not to mention I'm only into my first batch of beer), but I got a decent idea of their prices. The cans of malt extract ranged from $18-$30 (along those lines), and then they had these small "kits" that they put together themselves that ranged from $25-$50. Unfortunately, I'm not entirely sure what comes with he kit, nor did I get separate prices on grains and hops.

I looked online at some outlets and they seemed comparable in pricing.

I guess what I'm asking is if you "bargain hunt" for the best prices on ingredients or not. Along those lines, do ingredient prices pretty much range about the same no matter where you buy?

Buying kits online are probably your best bet. I believe most of them come with DME (dried malt extract), which is equivalent but weigh than LME (liquid). I've never bought a kit, so I hope others chime in here (I brew with grain).

Here are two places with great web sites and an extensive collection of "recipes' that you can order. They both have fixed shipping costs, so ordering more than 1 kit at a time is the best way to reduce your cost.

www.northernbrewer.com
www.brewmasterswarehouse.com

Nothern Brewer has an excellent, free, paper catalog. Make sure you sign up for that. Loads more online suppliers, and I'm sure the posts below will contain some of those. I personally recommend the ones above as I've used both.

Good Luck!