im very new to mead and i need some help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lanky1706

Reaction score
so this will be my 1st batch and i just wanna make sure i understand this and get it right.

so im gonna try making a blackberry mead,
pour 5 gallons of distilled into fermenter
pour 12lbs honey in, ill more then likely use wildflower
stir till all is dissolved
add 8lbs of blackberrys
pitch yeast
seal and leave it alone for 30 days or till airlock slows to 1 bubble per 30sec
rack into carboy
leave it alone for 90 days min or more
then bottle.

Bentonite to clarify
a few drops of lemon juice to stop ferment

the yeast i am using is Lalvin 71B-1122

i hope this is right

Here's a couple of suggestions...

1) add the honey first, then the fruit, then the water....honey and fruit will take up a lot of volume, so you don't want to add the water first...

2) you should look at adding some nutrients; Fermaid K would be best, but any yeast nutirent and energizer should work

3) your fermentation time may take longer than 30 days. In fact it probably will. Don't rely on time. Use a hydrometer.

4) after you rack into the carboy, make sure to top off with water so you have very little headspace. Then let it sit until it's either clear, or until there's 1/4" or more of gunk in the bottom.

5) if you give it enough time, you won't need bentonite to clarify; it should all settle out.

6) lemon juice to stop the ferment? I don't understand that part

71B-1122 yeast is great for a fruit mead!

Good luck, and welcome to HBT! :mug:

so this will be my 1st batch and i just wanna make sure i understand this and get it right.

so im gonna try making a blackberry mead,
add 8lbs of blackberrys
pitch yeast