I'm brand spanking new to this e-brew thing...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jarrat

Reaction score
I'm new to this e-brew thing and I want to get some fog cleared...

I've been trying to spend any free time I get researching this e-brew thing to get a all grain kit going....

Here is my plan...

I have a 32 quart (8 gallon) stock pot, and I`m planning on putting in (2) 1500 watt 120v elements side by side with custom nuts made up (so the elements can sit parrallel to each other) and wired up properly with a 20amp gcif outlet with a 20amp breaker for each plug just under my breaker pannel using 12awg wires.

I need it to make the strike water for my mash tank coleman cooler... and to do the boil afterwards.... Planning on trying to controll the boil by pluggin and unpluggin 1 of the elements... might step up to a 2000W later and possibly upgrading the breaker along with it to find the sweet spot....

I`m not at all interested in doing anything automated, or anything crazy like I`ve seen on this site.... just wanting to keep it cheap, small, 100% in the garage, and a clean looking setup that can be torn down easily and everything thrown into a bin and put away when not in use.

So my main question is.... does this seem like something possible??? The only thing I am worried about is the 1 hour boil after the wort is ready for the final boil.... that no one on here talks about that.... and if it burns onto the elements, what temps needed, ect......

If someone has a couple free minutes can someone put the definitions of these abbrevations for me.... and anymore you can think of as it is VERY hard to figure out what the heck you guys are talking about when I don't have the time to read through everyone's thread to find the definition of it..

RIMS

HLT