I can't make an IPA to save my life... Help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ArrogantDusty

Reaction score
As of today, I've been brewing for two years. Happy Anniversary to me! I brew all the time (Partial mash always, but I now have the set up for all grain). Literally everything I've made this last year has been a hit. My craft beer/homebrew buddies can't wait to try my next batch every time I make something. I also make meads and Apfelwein that I can't seem to keep around because it goes so fast. My natural talent and sheer luck has turned this hobby into a lifestyle for me.

But I've been hiding something. I can't make one of my favorite styles. After 4 attempts at creating a great IPA, and making a lot of "eh" stuff, I stopped trying. I put it out of my mind for a time and brewed other great beers, but on my two year anniversary, I looked back at all I wrought and am disappointed.

I'm calling out for help to get back on this horse and brew a bad ass IPA to start my third year out right.

What my favorite IPAs have in common:
  • They're fairly heavy ~ 6.5-7%.
  • They're dry - My best attempt at an IPA was an all-galaxay hopped batch that was not close to dry enough (yes, I did use a yeast starter).
  • I love the grapefruit flavors in IPAs - but this is not a must.

If you're willing to help, please be slightly detailed about your brew process. Cheers!