How should I add my bourbon oak chips?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GenIke

Reaction score
I have a porter that has been in primary for 2 weeks. I have been soaking 2 ounces of oak chips in roughly 5 ounces of bourbon.

Should I rack to secondary or just add to primary? Should I include the liquid bourbon or just the chips?

I understand this is a personal taste thing, but I'm a total rookie so... you know...:mug:

Northern Brewer have a Bourbon Barrel Porter All Grain Kit and they recommend adding to Secondary.

From their instruction sheet:
"SECONDARY FERMENTER ADDITIONS
2 oz.Medium-plus toast American oak cubes
16 oz. Bourbon (not included in kit)"

you have that choice. if you want a strong bourbon taste, pour it all in. if you want a mild bourbon, just add the chips. i'd dump it all in ;) add it to the secondary

Northern Brewer have a Bourbon Barrel Porter All Grain Kit and they recommend adding to Secondary.

From their instruction sheet:
"SECONDARY FERMENTER ADDITIONS
2 oz.Medium-plus toast American oak cubes
16 oz. Bourbon (not included in kit)"

Woah, 16 ounces seems like a lot. Wonder if I should step up my bourbon amount?

Is this for a five gallon batch? Oak chips have A LOT more surface area than oak cubes. You can easily overwhelm a porter with whiskey oak flavors using 2 ounces of oak chips. I only use one ounce in my wee heavy for five to seven days, which is a MUCH higher gravity beer than a porter. Steam sanitize your oak chips in the microwave by nuking them with some distilled water for 4-5 minutes, then let them soak in about an ounce or two of your favorite whiskey or bourbon. I use two mini bottles of Johnny Walker red label. Cheap and easy.