How much do you alter wine kits?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark Kissel

Twisty Road Vineyards
Reaction score
I have been making kits for about 6 months now with OK results. I now have recently invested in good equipment to measure TA, PH, and SO2 levels. The question is, do you make adjustments to red wine kits? My understanding is that good high end kits are pretty much good to go, but do you adjust TA or PH levels during the process? Is this a personal tast thing?
Just curious what others do, would I improve things or just screw them up.

Thanks for the input

Mark

I don't have a lot of experience with kits but your questions are easy :)

Altering TA is personal taste. The kit makers probably already adjusted it to something reasonable.

Sulfite level should be adjusted based on your process. You want 0.6-0.8ppm molecular SO2 present at the time when you'll start drinking it, and under 100ppm free SO2.

PH only needs to be adjusted if required for reaching target molecular SO2 levels.

You may use a different yeast strain based on personal taste, and potentially use yeast nutrients if the desired strain has a higher nitrogen requirement.

I have added my own oak cubes with good success.

Other stuff like properly rehydrating the yeast, controlling temperature, and using RO or distilled water is just good practice, even though the kit instructions may not mention it.

Cheers

Thanks RPh, good stuff. Only thing thats confusing in your reply is the PH. My understanding is the PPM SO2 desired is directly proportional to the PH of the wine. Your statement seams to state to adjust the PH to a level that requires .6 to .8 SO2 level at bottling. Am I misunderstanding you correctly?
Thanks
Mark