How do i make an all grain beer?!?!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kyleaubu

Reaction score
Ok so Im pretty new at this but I want to go all grain. I've searched and searched but cant seem to find a breakdown on the process. How does it work? what do I do? All I know is that I need a mash tun, but how the heck do I use it? This AG thing is a mystery to me and I'm dying to learn? Any help would be greatly appreciated! :D

Crushed grain goes into the mash tun along with water at a specific temperature (this temperature dictates how well the wort will attenuate, roughly somewhere between 148 and 158). Hot water (about 170 degrees) is put in the lauter tun and rinsed through the mash after about an hour. The sweet wort collected from this is then boiled just the same as extract.

Here's how I started AG brewing....

All your normal extract brewing utensils plus:

1.) A 3 gallon SS stock pot. ALSO served for me as the mash tun and sparge kettle. If you have a 5 gallon igloo cooler to use as the mash tun great :ban:

2.) Grain bag. Cuz' the grains gotta go somewhere.

3.) 1 or 2 of the 2 gallon fermenter buckets. Easy with 2 but I did it with 1.

4.) Chiller. Not sure if you have one or not. This chills the wort after the boil. Immersion chillers are what I have used and what I will mention.

Here's how I did it...
First, the short list:

1. Prep grains and water
2. Mash (basically using hot water soak the grains)
3. Sparge (washing the grains of the sugars using hotter water)
4. Boil (pretty much the same as in extract brewing)
5. Cool
6. Ferment
and so on and so forth

And now...the long list...