Hot Liquor Tank

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rob2010SS

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm looking to make the switch to AG from Extract but trying to avoid the $200 dollar investment in the AG starter kit at NB. I found someone selling a mash tun for fairly cheap. My question is what is needed to make your own HLT? Just another cooler with the stainless ball valve on the bottom? Anything else need to go on the inside?

Thanks for the help in advance. If anyone knows where I can get a kit similar to NB's all grain starter for cheaper than $200, I'm open to that as well.

I have been brewing AG for the past three years and I don't use a HLT. I heat the water and manually add it to the MT for both dough in and sparge. I have been thinking about adding a HLT to my system, but all you really need is a 5 gal pot and a burner.

I hope this helps :mug:

Your 5 g pot is essentially your HLT.
When I started out i began with 3 gal AG batches using two 5 gal Rubbermaid coolers & one burner (Blichmann). One was my HLT & the other (w/ a false bottom) my MLT. I had one 8 gal BK that I used for heating my strike water. I then heated my sparge water ( a few degrees high) and stored in my HLT cooler until needed while mashing.
Then all was drained into the BK & all was gravity feed.
Now I've "advanced" to 6g batches with a dedicated 10g HLT, 15g MLT, & 15g BK w/ 3 burners, pump, CFC, whirlpool, etc.
I must admit, sometimes simpler is better!