Help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bogac_Erkan

Reaction score
Hello to everyone. I am pretty new to homebrewing and prepared my 4th beer kit yesterday.

After setting my first kit, I started wondering what other things I can do with the new information sources I was introduced. The first was an dry apple cider and the result was "drinkable". Then I tried a ginger beer and it was a total failure as I tried to squeeze too many eggs into one basket and the end resuld found itself in the sink.

Now I have a strawberry wine in the jug and I am a little confused about how and when to bottle. MY recipe was full of flavour. Here are the details:

2000 gr of fresh strawberries
1300 gr granulated sugar
1 lt store bought apple juice
1 lemon's juice
25 gr ginger
1o gr of cinnamon sticks
20 pc cloves

I boiled everything other than the apple juice, mashed strawberries, stir well when cold, added apple juice, filtered. The OG was 1079.

This mixture is in the jug for the last 11 days and it is still bubbling and I haven't done anything else.

Help... I do not know how to proceed. My aim was to brew a fizzy, sparkling summer drink with strong strawberry aromas.

Any suggestions and comments on how to proceed would highly be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for all your feedback.

Check your FG, should be getting close to 1.00.
If it is the same for 2-3 days in a row then it is done. If it is 1.00 it is done.

Once you determine it is done cold crash it near freezing for a couple of days.
This will make the yeast and the solids drop out to the bottom so you can bottle clear fluid.

For natural carbonation bottle like you would beer. I think it is 1oz of sugar per gallon, there are some calculators that will give you a more accurate answer.