help save my mead

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
this is my first time brewing mead and it has stopped fermenting twice. my must is still in the primary my instuctions say not to rack it into the secondary until s.g. reads1.030. mine is stuck at1.060. i just now added more yeast for the second time trying to get it to start fermenting again. is this ok? i have read on this site where a few people have said acid is not good for mead must. my recipe called for marlic and tartaric acid. could this be my problem? and how can i fix it. i have put alot of time and money into this 5 gallon batch and dont want to have to thow it out and start anew. please help me save my brew.:confused:

How did you aerate the must? Did you use any yeast nutrient? How long has it been fermenting? How much honey and what kind of yeast did you use?

I have never used acid in my meads, but I have heard that if used, it should be added after fermentation.

Honey does not have the nutrients that beer has, so it is important to supplement with store bought. Honey also ferments very slowly, you must be patient.

yes i did use yeast energizer. it has been fermenting for about three weeks. i uses 16 pounds of honey. i done used my last packet of yeast and cant remember what it was called i know it came in a grey packet and i think it started with a S. I know it was not red star.

I give it a light stir daily.