Help check my mineral additions?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm still working on wrapping my head around water chemistry. Bru 'n Water has been an enormous help as it lets me play around with the numbers and see the affects. My focus at this point has been to shoot for a water style and then try to balance the PH for the mash. (I BIAB) I start with 100% RO water.

I've been confused by a few recipes that Bru 'n Water leads me to believe I need acid additions to get the PH dialed in. If I'm starting with RO water and adding a fairly modest amount of minerals, how is it that I need acid? Is the raise in PH coming from the malts? 8 oz of acid malt seems to balance things out to 5.37PH. I've never used acid malt before. Does this seem right? Any advice would be appreciated.

Here is my water profile I used the "Chimay" profile as my target. The recipe follows.

Bru'n Water v.3.4 Water Adjustments
Belgian Double w/ Sweet Orange Peels

Profiles (ppm) Exist Mash Finished
Ca 80 21 21
Mg 33 3 3
Na 0 8 8
SO4 0 26 26
Cl 0 29 29
HCO3 0 16 NA
SO4/Cl Ratio 0.9

Batch Volume 5.50 Gallons
Total Mash 8.10 Gallons
Mash Dilution 8.10 Gallons
Total Sparge 1.20 Gallons
Sparge Dilution 1.20 Gallons

Mineral Additions (gm) Mash Sparge
Gypsum . 0.8 0.1
Calcium Chloride 1.2 0.2
Epsom Salt 0.8 0.1
Mag Chloride 0.0 0.0
Canning Salt 0.0 0.0
Baking Soda 0.0 Not Recommended
Chalk . 0.0 Not Recommended
Pickling Lime 0.0 Not Recommended

Mash Acid Additions
0.00 (ml)
Sparge Acid Addtions
Phosphoric 10.00 % 0.55 (ml)

Recipe Specifications

Batch Size: 5.50 gal
Boil Size: 7.78 gal
Estimated OG: 1.065 SG
Estimated Color: 10.9 SRM
Estimated IBU: 19.9 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
Code: