hello

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jroberth

Reaction score
hello from Michigan. I'm brand new to brewing with my first batch still in the primary. I've been browsing the site for a week or so now and I can see that I can learn a lot from many of you guys (I've already had questions answered by searching). I'm probably going to be quiet for a while and just read, but I figured I'd say hi at least.

I'm originally from Saginaw, MI but in East Lansing studying fisheries and wildlife at MSU. It's nice to see that there are a lot of others in here from Michigan!

I do have one question though, if anyone could help me out:
When using secondary fermentation, is clarity the only benefit? I bought a 5-gallon glass carboy, but they didn't sell me a cap or anything for it and I didn't realize it wasn't included until I got home and laid everything out. The instructions with my ingredient kit says that you can use a secondary but it's optional, and doesn't explain anything about it. My kit came with a book and I've been reading it, but it also only mentions a secondary but doesn't really give me any information that helps me decide whether it's something I want to do or not.