Hello from Nova Scotia Canada!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NScooknet

Reaction score
Hi all,
I was referred here by a Canadian supplier who has also been giving me some advice, I am brand new to brewing beer, and have just bottled my very 1st batch of India Pale Ale.

I used "The Brew House" brand IPA liquid wort kit, and have only thus far a meager beginners brewing equipment kit consisting of the plastic primary fermenter, glass carboy secondary, and the usual basic equipment that comes with it.

I REALLY hope it actually turns out, and I've been totally sanitizing everything with Iodophore after cleaning it with a TSP solution.

Today's bottling was a real chore that's for sure, I'm struggling with the capping process, and have been having some trouble with the bottle capper.

I first used the bench type, but I had to push SO hard on the lever before the cap popped into place, I thought the bottle might explode under the pressure, then the bottle was stuck in the capper and had to be pulled out, there was definitely something wrong there.

I thought it was my capper, and took it back to the store where I bought it, but they were ALL like that, ( I also brought bottles and caps for the guy to try it himself, he couldn't make it work either) so then, the store guy said it might be the new caps they just got in. Unfortunately, there is nowhere else local to buy any other caps to try.

I am using twist off caps, but also the exact same thing happens with the pry off ones, so I bought a little red hand type and it seems to work much better, although I did break 2 bottle necks off at the end when capping today, which means 2 less beer to drink later, down the drain they went.

Bummer.