hard to not go overboard when bulk ordering hops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

inhousebrew

Reaction score
Well, I can't believe I have never done this before but I just order a couple pounds of hops online and man is it difficult to not get carried away. One place had five dollars flat rate shipping so I at one point had like six pounds in my cart thinking "Wow this is a great deal when thinking by the ounce!". Another had just great prices overall and adding a pound didn't really increase shipping by much so I had four pounds in my cart.

Then reality came in. I started thinking about my freezer space (or lack there of) and my bank account (or lack there of) and what the fact that I've been brewing 2.5 gallon batches lately and that it would take me an eternity to get through all those hops which I may get sick of at some point. And then I thought back to my initial reason for going online which was to get a cheaper pound of EKG hops because I always like to have a EKG bitter on hand.

So, in the end I wound up getting one pound of the US Goldings because they were way cheaper and seem to have favorable reviews compared to EKG and a pound of Nugget hops because they were $8.99 and I like their potential for bittering and mixing up some late additions.

That is why I buy the 4oz bag from Farm House Brewing Supplies. Just the right size for my bulk purchases.

Man, I have the same issues. I ordered 4 lbs a while back and find myself consistently having to substitute what I want to use for what I have too much of. I'm going to stick with cascade and centennial for my bulk purchases and get the rest from my LHBS from now on...the cost savings just aren't worth it to me.