Gravity & ProMash?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GABrewboy

Reaction score
I am curious about something as I am still new to ProMash. What is the
" Measurement taken in Fermentor " used for in the software? Is this a post boil reading or what? Thanks....still trying to get my numbers up to where they should be......still at around 67% effic. and would like to up!!! UGH!

GABrewboy said:
I am curious about something as I am still new to ProMash. What is the
" Measurement taken in Fermentor " used for in the software? Is this a post boil reading or what? Thanks....still trying to get my numbers up to where they should be......still at around 67% effic. and would like to up!!! UGH!
When calculating eff. I always use the measurements in the fermentor. I've found that this is more accurate for me and my system. Just try to be as accurate as you can with this. It's a great tool to help adjust your settings for your system so that you can make minor changes and up your eff.....

Hmmmm......okay!! Well now I think I am totally confused on a few things then......the brew I did yesterday was Scotish Heavy Ale. My OG should have read based on the ProMash at 1.56, after having my final runnings to 1.005 like it said to do, my gravity was at 1.48. Then it says post boil should have been 1.63, I got 1.54. My eff. it says was 68%. Now, if I click on the fermentor side of this it tells me my eff. is at 87%, which I am a little confused about now because wouldn't my gravity be a little better then this if I was at almost 90%? Maybe I am still learning, well there is no maybe about it, I am still learning........:drunk: