Good amount of spices?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lrbijl

Reaction score
I tried the recipe forum, but didnt really get a response.. So I'll make a separate thread for this!

I'm trying to make a christmassy, gingerbread-ish ale. These are my ingredients:

1 Coopers Dark Ale Kit (yes, I base my beer of a kit..)
2 pounds dark dme
2 pounds brewing sugar
2 pounds brown sugar
1/2 pound of carafa 1

1 tsp Ground Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Allspice
1/2 tsp Ground Ginger
2 Cloves
1 tsp orange zest

My is to steep the grains in hot water for half an hour, then get the dme and sugars boiling along with the wort from the fresh grains and add the spices and boil it all for roughly ten minutes. Then at flameout I'll add the kit.

here are my questions:

1) This is my first time using specialty grains. is 1/2 enough for some flavor? should i use more?
2) This is also my first time using spices. Do I have enough/too much/wrong types?
3) Should I make a bittering hop tea? I have cascade and pilgrim lying around.

You guys are truly awesome for helping out us newbies!

I would definitely add some hops in there. Even if you want to do a short boil, add enough to get at least 30 IBU. I'd also add some nutmeg but that's just me.

1) The amount of steeping grains really depends on what you are doing. 1/2 a pound of Carafa I is probably sufficient, depending on what you wanted to do. As far as the type - Carafa I is basically a pale roasted malt - something like chocolate malt. You'll get some roastiness and some color, but no real caramel/sweetness. This is fine if this is what you are looking for.