Ginger Beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

emmetkt

Reaction score
So first of all hello!

Not sure if this is the right place to be asking this as its not a real beer that I'm brewing, but...

I recently started brewing my own ginger beer using a GBP I bought online. Everything is going fine with it the plant is multiplying nicely and the brew tastes great! I'm really enjoying the whole idea of making my own, and i've started messing around with recipes and adding fruits and spices etc.

However

One thing i'm not sure/happy about is the ABV. so maybe you guys can steer me.

On the 04.11.11 I made a 10L batch which consisted of 10L spring water, GBP, 2KG sugar, 1tbls Tartar, Juice & rind 2 lemons and a whole lot of fresh grated ginger. This had a starting weight of 1.062

on the 11.11.11 i tested it and it was only 1.044 does this seem a little slow for ginger beer? I'm going to test again later today to see if its the same, if fermentation has stopped do i just add more sugar to increase the alcohol? If I do add more sugar how do i read the hydrometer or adjust the readings to know what % i have?

Many thanks.

Emmet.

I don't know anything about ginger beer.. but, I would say that in 7 days, the SG has droppe quite a bit. What temp are you at? I would leave it alone for another 7 days and take another sample to verify it is still dropping.. and again in another 7 days, etc until it becomes stable.