German Melanoidin Malt: How much?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treehouse

Reaction score
I'm trying to dial in a beer of mine and would like to get some ruby red color to the brown. I know you can use Melanoidin Malt to achieve this but I have never used this stuff before and have no idea what kind of taste it is going to contribute or at what amounts for a subtle red coloring.

Why do I want red coloring? I dunno. I'm into beer color I guess. This recipe is not a strict interpretation and is going to be loosely based on a medium gravity Yorkshire style brown. Loosely. I like to experiment. Anybody use this stuff?

Oops. Forgot to give the SRM number. This Melanoidin malt is listed as SRM 30.

Melanoidins are chemical compounds that provide rich malty tastes. You can find them in higher concentrations in Munich malt than in regular old 2-row. In the speciality grain known as Melanoidin Malt, the levels of melanoidins are much higher.

If you just want the color and not the malty taste, try a VERY small amount of roasted barley.

treehouse said:
I'm trying to dial in a beer of mine and would like to get some ruby red color to the brown. I know you can use Melanoidin Malt to achieve this but I have never used this stuff before and have no idea what kind of taste it is going to contribute or at what amounts for a subtle red coloring.

Why do I want red coloring? I dunno. I'm into beer color I guess. This recipe is not a strict interpretation and is going to be loosely based on a medium gravity Yorkshire style brown. Loosely. I like to experiment. Anybody use this stuff?

Oops. Forgot to give the SRM number. This Melanoidin malt is listed as SRM 30.