Frankenbeer help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigcountrybrew

Reaction score
Ok so I am going to be assistant brewer for my buddy this weekend and he wants to do a frankenbeer. With the recipe he gave me It looks like we need to to Partial Mashing (which I have been wanting to try anyways). But I am a Noob, and have only followed recipes, so I am reaching out to you the experts for help here. I have read the"Easy partial Mash Brewing" thread from DeathBrewer and I think I have a pretty good Idea on how to do it (Thanks to him). Here is the recipe my buddy wants to do.

1 lb of wheat
1 lb of 2-Row
1lb of mild ale
1lb of Crystal 60L
8lbs of light LME

2 oz of sweet orange peel
1 oz of crushed Coroamder Seeds

1oz of Centennial Pellets added last 15 min
1oz of Cascade Pellets added last 15 min

Cailfornia Liquid Yeast (WLP001)

1. what is this going to be like (OF, FG, IBU)?
2. With Partial Mashing we will add all the grain, do the mashing, then add
the extract and boil as normal. Right?
3. If I am understanding the math right for the water
I have 4lbs of grain * 1.25 quarts = 5 quarts or 1.25 gallons
Grains will absorb .4 gallons of water (.10 * 4lbs)
That leaves me with .85 gallons, so if I want to do a 3 gallon boil I will
sparge with 2.15 gallons or so right?
4. Is there anything you would tweak to make this better?
5. Since I am a noob, I have no idea what this will be like, any guesses?

Thanks for helping me out. I love this site!:mug:

1. what is this going to be like (OF, FG, IBU)?

I can't claim to know what the FG would be. I don't concern myself with FG, but the other specs I get from ProMash are

OG: 1.077 (assuming 70% effiency on your mash)
IBU: 47 (assuming you add extract late in the boil for better hop utilization)
SRM: 13.2