Franken-bar

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wegcagle

Reaction score
Hi crew,

I've been brewing for about 5 years now, but have been pretty silent around the forum (hopefully changing that now). As a quick background I am a big DIY kind of guy and as such have a ton of "extra" stuff laying around my shop.

My oldest kid is having the yearly fund raiser, and my wife and I got roped into running the auction. Last year one of the biggest hits was a craft beer party that was auctioned (my wife's idea). Me and two other homebrewers supplied all the beer for the party, and some others supplied the food. It was a MASSIVE hit, and this year I was asked to provide some homebrew for the fund raiser as well. While my wife was getting everything organized she told me that I should build "something prettier" than 2 kegs in a trashcan with picnic taps....), so I set off to work.

She's Franken-bar because I have almost $25 in the bar (not counting keg equipment and taps). I spent $5.67 on chalkboard paint, and under $20 on two computer fans from Radioshack. Everything else was scavenged from old projects and stuff I saved while renovating the house. Let me know what you think.

attachment.php

Found an old formica (pretty huh?) bar top that was left over from our initial house renovation. Slapped some plywood legs and was off on the build.

attachment.php

Built a top box for the taps (only 2 for now, but have a good plan to expand). The bottom I'm tracing to cut out 2 4" holes to mount fans to keep the taps and line cold.

attachment.php