Found yeast packet in garage.....use it?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ScoobyDude

Reaction score
Was organizing garage and found a packet of Fermenitis safale us-05 dry ale yeast that never made it into the fridge. I always store yeast packets in fridge as the brew stores do too, so wondering if this unrefridgerated packet is still good or may produce off flavors.

Directions say store cool and dry. The garage is dry but not exactly cool....doesn't get roasting hot in there either... I'm guessing it may get into the 70s at the warmest times of day.

Expiration date on packet is in another 10 months.

Use it?

It's likely just going to be weak. I'm no yeast expert but I'd buy an extra packet for a backup and use that old packet to make a good starter. If the starter goes as expected then I'd use it, other wise make another with the fresh pack. Or you could toss it and treat it as a $3.95 lesson.

David

At the very least, you can throw it in the boil at 10 minutes left to give the live yeast you pitch later something else to eat other than maltose & such.

I think I'll save it for a low cost cider... thanks for the input. Definitely don't want to blow it on a planned out brew.

Chuck it out. $4 for a new one to replace one you didn't know you had.

My garage gets into the 100's. Your's must be climate controlled. 70's! I'm jealous

I wouldn't even consider it. Yeast is cheap, relative to the many hours it takes to brew.

It's dry yeast. My local brew supply shop never keeps them cold. As for if you can still use it. What does the exp date say? I'd go off that. They are good for up 4 years after packaging. I'd add it to a cup of water with boiled sugar in it. To see if its still active and a live