Floating (SS) keg pickups ?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewman !

Reaction score
Is anyone using a floating (stainless steel) pickup in their kegs ? How do you like it ?

Yep all my kegs have clearbeer systems. They are expensive but I'll never go back. Can keg hop with loose pellets and beer drops clear super quick.

Do you have a picture of one of the units ?

I bought one (the one Iseneye linked) as a Christmas gift to myself and I liked it so much I bought another about a month ago. I got the bare-bones model which cost about $47 each including shipping.

I'll probably stick with just two for the time being due to the cost even though my keezer has 4 taps. They really do work well though and if cash were no object I'd buy two more immediately.

I'm new to brewing so I will be tying the Irish moss and gelatin first on my next keg beer but I see myself trying one of these very soon.

Thanks for sharing. Any idea what diameter they are ?

Not off hand, but I can measure when I get home this evening. I assume you're talking about the OD of the post insert that replaces the original dip tube, correct? I can say that they work just fine in both Cornelius and Firestone kegs.

I was actually referring to the ball diameter. Would love to know this.

I have both the CBDS and the cheaper William’s top draw gadget. They both perform well, but the CBDS is heavier and hence more reliable at rising and falling as it should with the beer level.

The William’s product is lightweight, so the tubing length and flexibility can impact its buoyancy a bit sometimes. I haven’t had it happen in a serving keg yet, but in test runs with water it’s gotten hung up at the beer surface, if only temporarily. Not really a big deal at only $20.