First Time Water Adjustment Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnK93

Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been brewing all grain for a couple of years using my well water without any adjustments and finally got a water test from Ward Labs. I'm just starting to learn about water and how it affects brewing, so I'm looking for some initial help as I figure things out. Below are the results:

pH 8.0
Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) Est, ppm 300
Electrical Conductivity, mmho/cm 0.50
Cations / Anions, me/L 4.9 / 4.8

ppm
Sodium, Na 7
Potassium, K 4
Calcium, Ca 68
Magnesium, Mg 14
Total Hardness, CaCO3 228
Nitrate, NO3-N 0.1 (SAFE)
Sulfate, SO4-S 10
Chloride, Cl 66
Carbonate, CO3 < 1.0
Bicarbonate, HCO3 141
Total Alkalinity, CaCO3 117
Total Phosphorus, P 0.01
Total Iron, Fe 0.01

I've entered this info into the Bru'n spreadsheet along with my recipe for an ordinary bitter. Estimated mash pH seems good at 5.35, but I'm not certain where to go from here. I'm playing around with the water adjustment tab with a Burton water profile but am stumbling on what to do.

Any feedback on my water results or suggestions on where to go from here?

Thanks a lot!

John

What do you have plugged into Brun water? Can you post a screenshot of your spreadsheets?

The basic idea is that you plug your water contents into the spreadsheet, then enter ingredients (the color and malt type are important, so pay attention to every field). Then if your mash pH or mineral content needs adjustment, you can plug that into the adjustment sheet and mess with acid additions until you hit a pH of ~5.4

You have a fair amount of bicarbonate in your water, so I suspect you have entered something wrong if it's giving you a mash pH of 5.35 for an ordinary bitter recipe.