First time using a bayou burner - help!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fenners

Reaction score
So I've been "kicked out" the kitchen, and I'm using a bayou burner SQ14 for the first time to make a brew today... I'm a total noob to burners bar my Weber BBQ. What's the 'correct' way of controlling the heat to get the water boiling? Do I want the burner knob 'full on', what about the air intake valve thing? What's the process for controlling this thing!?

Doesn't help I live in a /real/ windy part of Texas!

I have my flames going up around two inches, which is about an inch below the pot. This will get you wort from mash temp to a boil in about 15 minutes. You can do it faster, but it will use more gas. As far as the air intake thingy, wide open on mine makes a nice blue flame. Yellow flames will make soot on your pot.

I leave the air intake wide open when coming up to the boil. Then I turn the gas down and have to close off the intake substantially to maintain the boil for the next 60 - 90 minutes. Keep the flame blue, and keep it quiet while maintaining the boil.

-a.

I crank it full gas until I get a boil and then I turn it down the flame as low as it will go to maintain the boil. For me that usually means the gas is almost all the way off.

As far as intake, just turn it to the spot where you have the bluest flame. When you turn the gas down, you may need to readjust the intake.

I adjust mine until I see the flames start to lick up around the sides, and then turn it down a bit from there. I do the same as mentioned above with the intake.

Regarding your wind comment, it was windy in Tucson today as well! I've seen several threads about making a windshield for the burner -- that may be worth looking into as well.