First Time Kegging NEIPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Benighted

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am about ready to keg my hazy NEIPA in the next few days and I was wondering what is a good way to go about it. This is my first time kegging and I understand that oxidizing NEIPA can result in a brown mess with vegetable, faded hop aroma so I am trying to avoid it if at all possible.
I was planning on just purging the keg with c02 and racking either through the ball valve on my chapman univessel or with a racking cane. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Last edited:
You've got the right idea. I fill the keg with sanitizer and push it out to purge with CO2. Then rack directly from the spigot via gravity into the "out" post. The "in" post is connected to a tube so pressure can escape.

[...]I was planning on just purging the keg with c02 and racking either through the ball valve on my chapman univessel or with a racking cane. [...]

If by "with CO2" you mean simply flushing the keg with gas, that's not going to do the job well.

@Upthewazzu's suggestion is a good one: totally fill the keg with no-rinse sanitizer (eg: Star San) to overflowing through the PRV, making sure both dip tubes are filled (pop their poppets once the keg is filled) then hook your gas to the In post and push the sanitizer out the Out post. And before filling, be sure the long dip tube end is properly located in its well at the bottom of the keg...

Cheers!

You've got the right idea. I fill the keg with sanitizer and push it out to purge with CO2. Then rack directly from the spigot via gravity into the "out" post. The "in" post is connected to a tube so pressure can escape.