First time brewer - hot fermentation question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cannae216

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am brand new to brewing and the forum, so apologies in advance as I am sure this is a question frequently asked...

I did my first brew on the weekend, started with the training wheels and did the Brewer's Best Weissbier kit. The brew went fine, however My OG was quite high (1.061 vs. target of 1.050) even after diluting with some water.

In order to account for the high OG, I decided to ferment at the higher end of the recommended temperature for the yeast (Danstar Munich). I placed the carboy in my temperature controlled freezer, set to 72F and walked away. Within 24 hours I had what I would consider signs of a very aggressive fermentation, and was happy I had used a blowoff tube.

Within 48 hours, the bottom of my cooler was coated in what it believe is water from my blowoff bucket, and the fermentation shows no signs of slowing.

My concern is that my high temperature ferment is going to overwork the yeast and create off-flavours. Although I tend to prefer weissbiers with a banana flavour, I don't want this to be overkill.

After poking around this, and other, forums, I also see that internal carboy temperatures can be 5-10F higher than surface readings on a carboy. I would expect I am on the higher end of this range die to the aggressive ferment.

On to the question(s)....

1) was it a good idea to do a higher temperature ferment to account for higher OG? I didn't really have a reason for this other than it felt right...

2) Should I crank my temperature down to low 60s to attempt and salvage what I can, or is the damage already done at 2 days at high 70s? Will the sudden drop in temperature cause an issue?