First competition

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DVCNick

Reaction score
I've got to qualify this by saying I'm a competition newbie and don't know how it goes, what competitions are correctly judged and which ones are difficult to win, etc. I know very little and have no competition experience.

That said, a brewpub local to me had a competition so I figured I would enter. I understand it is a small privately owned chain, called Iron Hill, that has more locations in the northeast (I'm in SC). They are going to pick a winner from each location so I'm only up against other SC entries. There were 51 total in this region. I made the first round cut into the top 5! Pretty cool. Final judging is attendable and is next Saturday. They have a bunch of different styles in the top 5, so not sure how exactly they compare that, but they will pick one overall winner. That winner will have a batch of their recipe brewed on the big system, and will get a 500$ gift card and a sixth keg from the big batch. $1/pint from the big batch goes to charity.

Looking forward to see how it pans out and hopefully at least going to be able to get real scorecards from my two entries. The one that advanced is a simple wheat beer recipe so I guess they are judging more on execution than complexity of the process.

Congrats and good luck!

I was also selected as a top 5 (from the New Jersey location at Iron Hill). It's my first time in a competition as well. I made a Märzen, going against a Mango Jalapeno Pale Ale, Fruited Sour Ale, English Barley wine and a Porter. I imagine they go by the scorecard? I won't be able to make the judging, since I'll be at a memorial for a friend that we just lost.

Ah, sorry to hear about your friend.
Congrats and good luck!